SEAT OF GOVERNMENT.

No. 7 of 1904.

An Act to determine the Seat of Government of the Commonwealth.

[Assented to 15th August, 1904.]

Preamble.

WHEREAS it is provided by the Constitution that the Seat of Government of the Commonwealth shall be determined by the Parliament:

Be it therefore enacted by the King's Most Excellent Majesty, the Senate, and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Australia, as follows: \rightarrow

Short title.

Determination of Seat of

Government.

1. This Act may be cited as the Seat of Government Act 1904.

2. It is hereby determined that the Seat of Government of the Commonwealth shall be within seventeen miles of Dalgety, in the State of New South Wales.

Area of Federal territory.

Valuation of land within Federal territory. **3**. The territory to be granted to or acquired by the Commonwealth, within which the Seat of Government shall be, should contain an area not less than nine hundred square miles, and have access to the sea.

4. The amount of the compensation to be paid by the Commonwealth for any land to be acquired by the Commonwealth within the Seat of Government or the surrounding territory shall not exceed the value of the land on the first day of January One thousand nine hundred and four, but in other respects the provisions of the *Property* for Public Purposes Acquisition Act 1901 shall apply to the acquisition of such land.